Monday, 18 January 2016

How to Make Sure Your LinkedIn Account Is Secure

Are you on LinkedIn?
Have you reviewed your security and privacy settings recently?
While LinkedIn is valuable for building your professional presence, it’s important to be conscious of your individual privacy and security when using the network.

#1: Decide Whether to Share News Mentions
LinkedIn’s Mentioned in the News feature automatically finds and shares with your network news items that mention you. (LinkedIn purchased the Newsle app to curate more relevant content for members.)
The default is to share your news mentions. To change this setting, go to Privacy Controls and click Turn On/Off Your News Mention Broadcasts. In the window that appears, uncheck the Yes! Let Them Know box and click Save Changes.

#2: Turn Off Share Profile Edits
This privacy setting has less to do with your personal security and more to do with how your contacts view you and your activity. Since you don’t necessarily want to alert your network of every minor change you make to your profile, I recommend that you turn off profile edits (previously called activity broadcasts).
To do so, click Choose Whether or Not to Share Your Profile Edits. In the window that appears, uncheck the box and click Save Changes.

#3: Decide Who Sees Your Activity Feed
Your LinkedIn activity feed used to be your updates. Now it only refers to actions taken, such as following influencers, joining groups and so on.
Your activity feed is visible to your network by default. As with profile edits, you probably don’t want your minor activities to clutter your connections’ feeds, so you can make your activity feed private.
To change the setting to be more private, click Select Who Can See Your Activity Feed. In the window that appears, choose the Only You option and click Save Changes.

#4: Select What Others See on Your Profile
In most cases, you want people to know when you’ve viewed their LinkedIn profile. It helps keep you top of mind and increases the know-like-trust factor. However, there may be times when you want to make your profile anonymous.
For instance, if you’re doing research on LinkedIn, and you don’t want people to see you, make yourself completely private. Use this tactic when you check out competitors or view potential employers, employees or partners.
To change this setting, click Select What Others See When You’ve Viewed Their Profile. Then decide if you want to show your name and headline, display only semi–private profile characteristics or be completely private.

#5: Decide Who Can See Your Connections
A lot of people believe that all LinkedIn users can see their connections. This is not actually the case.
By default, only your first-degree connections can see your other first-degree connections. (First-degree connections are people you invited or people who invited you.)
Turn this setting off if you don’t want your connections to see each other. Click Select Who Can See Your Connections and choose Only You. Then click Save Changes.
#6: Decide Who Has Access to Your Phone Number
By default, all LinkedIn members who have your phone number can discover and connect with you. Therefore you’ll probably want to manage how people who have your phone number can connect with you. Select that option under Privacy Controls.

#7: Edit Your Public Profile
Whether they have an account on LinkedIn or not, everyone who has access to the Internet can see your public profile. By default, LinkedIn makes all aspects of your profile visible to everyone. You’ll want to make some adjustments to protect your privacy.
Under Helpful Links, click Edit Your Public Profile. Then customize it.

#8: See Which Apps Can Access Your Profile and Data
It never hurts to check which applications have access to your LinkedIn profile and network data.
On the Groups, Companies & Applications tab, click the option to view your applications. Remove access to apps you‘re no longer comfortable with.

#9: Turn Off Data Sharing With Third-Party Apps
As another layer of protection, turn off data sharing with third-party applications (mentioned in the previous section). In the left sidebar, click the Groups, Companies & Applications tab, and on the right, click Turn On/Off Data Sharing With Third Party Applications.

#10: Review Your Account
There are a few places under the Account tab (also in Privacy & Settings) that you may want to explore.
account setting
Review and make adjustments to your Account settings.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Buy Now